The day started a little earlier than I would’ve liked.  My husband got up early and was in the shower when his alarm went off at 5:58 a.m.  Ugh.  I put my pillow over my head and pretended not to hear it (because I was too comfortable to move over to the other side of the bed to turn it off) for six minutes.  Then the dog woke up and decided she needed to go out.  I kept my pillow over my head and ignored her for six minutes.  🙂  Then I got up and started my day.

Now, by “started my day”, I mean I sat up in bed and played on the internet for a couple of hours.  Then I went downstairs, made some oatmeal, and played on the internet for another couple of hours.

Um, hello?  I had work to do!  (I work at home 2-3 days a week.)  Even if I didn’t have any work to do, there’s plenty of work to do in my house.  Believe me.  I don’t know why I wake up with great plans to be ultra productive only to find myself still in my pyjamas at 4 p.m.

I did manage to clean the downstairs carpets and take care of some real work-related tasks, but I have to be more productive tomorrow.  My current plan is to get up, get ready, have breakfast, and get the worky tasks out of the way so I can enjoy the rest of the day.  Best laid plans, right?

Today was a good day, food wise.  I ate correct portion sizes and everything!  Everything below is homemade unless I indicate otherwise.

Breakfast:  banana oatmeal

Lunch:  chicken and vegetable soup with a sprinking of parmesan, half a toasted wholemeal roll from Morrisons with a slice of Monterey Jack melted on top

Snack:  10 raw mixed nuts, an apple

Dinner:  Skinnytaste’s Salisbury steak with mushroom gravy (which was really nice, though I’ll add more spices next time), mashed potatoes, petit pois

Dessert:  a slice of homemade apple ginger cake with low-fat Greek yogurt and strawberries

Just had a brain wave — I think I’ll start typing my recipes here as well, because it’ll keep everything together and will stop me doing the “WHERE’S THAT DAMN RECIPE?  I KNOW I WROTE IT ON THE BACK OF THE LAST PHONE BILL!” thing I do every time I get ready to cook something!  😉

