Nice early start again this morning as we had a wrong number call from a woman somewhere in China (we’re guessing) at 6 a.m.  Fortunately the call came while I was in a lighter sleep stage, so I was able to just stay awake after the call.  I watched a little tv and then got to work.  Did a few loads of laundry, put the new electric blanket on the bed, and finally put away my laundry (which has been sitting on the window seat on the landing for, oh, two weeks now).  Am I the only person in the world who just can’t seem to put clean laundry away?  My husband puts his clothes away as soon as they’re folded,whereas I spend every morning digging through a stack of clothes trying to find something to wear.

Gee, I wonder why I feel so stressed all the time?  ;)

Got through one of my major work projects and feel caught up enough that I’ll be able to enjoy the weekend without worrying about not being ready for Monday to begin.

Another binge-free day!  I find that planning my meals ahead of time really, really helps.  If I find myself hungry with nothing planned, I’ll just eat whatever’s easiest, and that usually means fast food or a big bag of highly processed junk from the supermarket.

I’ll tell you a secret.  Since I work from home regularly, I usually find myself home alone on a Friday.  That gives me the perfect opportunity to binge in secret, which means I always look forward to and dread Fridays at the same time.  I haven’t done this in a while, but when i go full-scale Friday binge, my chosen weapon is pizza.  You can order online from Pizza Hut, which means I don’t even have to speak to anyone in order to get food!  WIN!  I’d check to see what the offers are and usually go with whatever gives me the most food for the lowest price.  Usually, that means a large supreme pan pizza, a side cheese and bacon potato skins, and a slice of cake.  I’d arrange for it to be delivered around 1 p.m. so that I’d have time to get dressed and look halfway decent when answering the door (because I usually look pretty rough on work-at-home days!), and then I’d plop myself down on the sofa and plow my way through the food, eating every single bit.  Can you imagine how much saturated fat and sodium I was consuming???  Ugh.  Then I’d go out to the garage and hide the pizza box and wrappers at the bottom of the wheelie bin.

Once, I didn’t have time to get out to the garage, so I just shoved the pizza box behind a shrub in the back garden.  Every time I let the dog out afterward, she’d run straight to that shrub and start sniffing.  Bitch was trying to tell on me!  :)  Anyway, after a couple of days I went out to retrieve the box to put it in the wheelie bin, but the box was gone.  Nooooooooooooooooo.  My husband found it and threw it away, but didn’t say anything to me for months.

So, he finally knew my secret.  (Not that he didn’t already have an inkling — we’d been married for 7 years by then — but I don’t think he’d realised the extent of my secretiveness about food.)

Hmmm.  Not sure why I felt the need to share all of that.  I guess it’s because it’s Friday and I have NO PLANS to contact Pizza Hut today.

Anyway, here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast:  slice of Monterey Jack on wholemeal toast, an apple

Lunch: leftover Salisbury steak from yesterday, half a bowl of leftover chicken and vegetable soup (I’m totally getting value from those leftovers, baby!)

Dinner:  peppers stuffed with turkey chili based on this recipe from Fat Free Vegan, Mexican rice, corn

Dessert:  two scoops of Ben & Jerry’s low fat frozen yogurt (at the cinema)